Finding an accomodiation in Tokyo

 

I would like to travel to several places this summer, and I would like to start my trip n Tokyo.  I am from Tokyo but since my parents do not have enough space to let me stay at their house, I probably will have to stay at a hotel.

As you may know, Tokyo is expensive, and you may think it is difficult to find reasonable accommodation in Tokyo.  But it is not true.

If I would stay here for a month a so, I can rent “Weekly Mansion.” or I can stay monthly apartment, guesthouse or hostels for foreigners called “Gaijin House.”where I stay with other foreigners who are traveling under limited  budget.  “Gaijin” means foreigners in Japanese.

One of my friends stayed at a ‘Gaijin House,” called Sakura House. Here is another link for guesthouse.

Sakura House single room

Sakura House single room

Another option might for you would be Khaosan TokyoKhaosan Road is know as a mecca of backpackers in Bangkok, and the guest house was named after that infamous landmark in Bangkok. They have several guest houses in Downtown Tokyo area.

Khaosan Tokyo

Khaosan Tokyo

At these guest houses, they not only have foreigner guests but also have Japanese guests who wants to mingle and exchange information with foreigners.

As for myself, my stay iin Tokyo would be for about 10 days, so I am looking to find a hotel which cost about $60 per night.  One of the option I have for now is YMCA Hotel Youth Asian Center. This hotel is located in Sarugaku-Cho, in Tokyo and very central located.  It cost about $ 60 a day and no curfew.

YMCA Tokyo

YMCA Tokyo

Another hotel I have in mind is Hotel Asian Center of Japan. This hotel coast about $65 a day, and located right in one of the most fashionable and trendy area called Aoyama.

The Asian Center of Japan

The Asian Center of Japan

But if my budget allows I would like to stay at Grand Palace Hotel Tokyo.  This hotel is 4-5 star hotel, but if you reserve your room through Japanese version the hotel’s website or call them, you can get a rate of about $72 per night for single room.  My father used to take me to this restaurant for lunch and dinner.  They are located in the heart of Tokyo, Kudanshita. The hotel is walking distance from Yasukuni Shrine, where they have the souls of fallen soldiers who lost their lives during the World War II.

Single room, Grand Palace Hotel Tokyo

Single room, Grand Palace Hotel Tokyo

Pedestrian scramble in Shibuya, Tokyo

Pedestrian scramble in Shibuya, Tokyo

Soft Drink Vending Machine on the platform of Shibuya JR Station

Soft Drink Vending Machine on the platform of Shibuya JR Station

Infamous cigarette vending machine in Tokyo

Infamous cigarette vending machine in Tokyo

Old style back alley in Shinjuku, Tokyo

Old style back alley in Shinjuku, Tokyo

Shinjuku

Shinjuku

Leave a Reply

